"Episciences-Maths" is a project hosted by the CCSD (Centre pour la Communication Scientifique Directe, a French CNRS unit developing the open archive "HAL"), in collaboration with Institut Fourier (a mathematics research department at Grenoble University, France).

The editorial process envisioned for the Episciences-Maths epijournals is quite standard: authors submit their articles after making them available in arXiv or in HAL, and provide the ID of their e-print to a specified epijournal of their choice. The Editorial board of that epijournal handles the submission exactly as for a traditional scientific journal, appointing referees, and deciding to publish - or not - when the report is received. If the article is accepted after suitable corrections have been made, it is subsequently listed on the web page of the journal as a link to the actual file, the final version of which is stored solely in the open archive. At some point in the future, the Episciences platform might also allow the publication of additional contents attached to each article (review by a reporter or by the editorial boards of epijournals, additional data provided by the author: source codes, lecture notes, presentations ...)

The Episciences-Maths initiative will be supervised by an "Epicommittee" composed of leading mathematicians. Its role is to stimulate the constitution of editorial boards willing to create new epijournals, especially thematic epijournals in areas not yet covered, to manage possible takeovers of existing journals, and finally to treat any ethical and professional issues. Members of the Epicommittee may or may not themselves take responsibility of an epijournal.

The current members of the epi-math committee (as of July 15, 2013) are :

  • Sun-Yung Alice Chang, Department of Mathematics, Princeton University, USA
  • Ingrid Daubechies, Department of Mathematics, Duke University, member of CEIC, USA
  • James Davenport, Department of Computer Science and Mathematical Sciences, University of Bath, UK
  • Jean-Pierre Demailly, UFR de Mathématiques, Institut Fourier, Université de Grenoble I, France
  • Timothy Gowers, Department of Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Greg Kuperberg, Mathematics Department, University of California, Davis Campus, USA, head of Davis's front to arXiv
  • Gadadhar Misra, Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Science, India
  • Junjiro Noguchi, Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, the University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Peter Olver, School of Mathematics, University of Minnesota at Minneapolis, USA,
  • Thomas Peternell, Mathematisches Institut, Universität Bayreuth, Germany
  • Terence Tao, Department of Mathematics, UCLA, USA
  • Wendelin Werner, Department of Mathematics, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Shing-Tung Yau, Department of Mathematics, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA and The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
  • Xiangyu Zhou, Department of Mathematics, The Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, P.R. of China

The epi-maths technical committee :

  • Jean-Pierre Demailly, Professor (Teaching and Research), Institut Fourier
  • Ariane Rolland, Research Engineer, Institut Fourier


Contact: epimaths-contact@episciences.org